Some Dutch Treats

Hubby made us some Dutch pancakes, Pannenkoeken, Saturday morning.  How are they different from American pancakes you ask?  They are thinner than the American version and more resemble crepes.  When Hubby first came here, he loved the fluffy and thick American pancakes.  Now, he’s reverted back to the Dutch style.  The Dutch like to eat their pancakes with all types of things baked into it.  Apples, cherries, bacon and cheese are just some of the fillings you can have in your pancake in Holland, a country full of pancake restaurants.  I had some blueberries lying around so I just smashed some onto my pancake.  We purchased the pancake mix from Dutch Delight in Petaluma, CA.  A very sweet Dutch couple runs Dutch Delight from their home.  Hubby and I drove over there to stock up for a Dutch dinner party we were having that night.  You’ll spot a little windmill pulling up to their driveway.

In addition to the pancake mix, we also got frozen croquettes and salted herring.  Croquettes are meat based ragout rolls covered in breadcrumbs, deep-fried, and often served with mustard.  You can order them from a snack shop in Holland with a bun so you’re eating it like a hot dog.  For some people, anything deep-fried is good.  I must admit though that the first time I had croquette I practically spat it out.  Now it’s one of the things that I crave.  It’s an acquired taste I suppose, much like Kimchi.  The Dutch eat their herring raw and salted, sprinkled with chopped onions.  The first catch of the season is always a huge event, complete with festivals and a charity auction.  The typical way is to grab it by the tail, throw back your head, and swallow.  Now, I love sushi but Dutch herring is not something I think I can ever learn to appreciate.

The Dutch consume the most licorice, which they call drop and of which salty ones are especially favored, in the world.  It’s certainly addicting to melt one in your mouth.  The most curious Dutch culinary tradition, at least to the people I know, is their tradition of putting chocolate flakes or sprinkles on bread for breakfast.  Who in their right mind puts chocolate on bread for breakfast???  Well when you think about it, isn’t butter on bread quite weird by itself already?  At home during a cold night, I just love making some hot chocolate with Droste cacao.  Quite expensive for a box here but a little goes a long way.  All of these items we purchased from Dutch Delight.

Speculaas, almond cookies that are traditionally eaten during Sinterklaas, was actually purchased at the Chinese supermarket down the street.  Here in the San Francisco Bay Area at least, you’ll find many European cookies and sweets available in Chinese markets, better than what you’ll find at Trader Joe’s sometimes.  We’re running low on our supplies but in between Dutch Delight and Haig’s Delicacies (where we last purchased the much-loved stroopwafels but have no new picture of since I ate them all), we don’t have to wait until our next trip to Holland to satisfy these Dutch cravings.

6 thoughts on “Some Dutch Treats

  1. As an expat Dutchie, this was fun to read! About the chocolate sprinkles on bread: I remember as a child we could find chocolate butter to put on bread, butter mixed with sugar and cocoa I imagine. Haven’t seen it around for years though during my visits to Holland.

    During my first sojourn in the US I was told to gargle with salt water for a sore throat. I thought this was very strange and had never heard of it, until I realized that in Holland we are told to suck on salty liquorice! Same result, I expect, but give me the salty liquorice!

    Have you discovered appelsiroop yet?

    • Hello Miss Footloose,

      Hmmm I’ve never heard or seen chocolate butter. Will need to ask Hubby about that one.

      Funny about the salt water. Hubby actually gets sore throats a lot so my friend told him to gargle with salt water and even gave him some special salt from Italy. It’s a regular habit of his now.

      Oh yes have tried the apple syrup. I actually don’t like jams and jellies of any kind. Weird I know. The one thing that people automatically ask when they learn he is Dutch is cheese, to which he replies that he is probably one of the few Dutchmen to not like cheese! I’ve tried putting some cheese on his plate but then he just wants to change plates.

  2. You could very easily make pancakes all by yourself.
    You need flower, some baking powder, some vanilla suger, a few eggs and half a liter milk and much cinnamon.

    You use twice as much milk as flower. Two or three eggs on half a liter milk will suffice…

    You can eat anything on a pancake… From (Dutch) cheese to tomatoes, onions and mushrooms. Or ‘hagelslag’ (you look it up).

    Enjoy…

  3. That chocolate butter is called Chocoladepasta in Dutch. You can buy different variaties in all Dutch grocery stores. From white chocolate butter to very dark. Some have hazel nuts in it. Some arfe striped white and brown.

Leave a Reply

