Capitola

**Photos as published on Examiner.com. Go to my Examiner page to read a more descriptive travel post on Capitola.

We actually drove over to Santa Cruz from Capitola.  Now I’ve lived practically my entire life in the San Francisco Bay Area but had never even heard of Capitola until some years ago when a customer called in asking about a vacation rental in Capitola.  I googled and immediately saw photos of the famed pastel-colored buildings, part of the Capitola Venetian hotel, on the beach.  Where else can you see little buildings pained hot pink, turquoise, yellow, and blue in California?  I can’t think of anywhere else.  Add to the quirky buildings the sun, sand, ocean, murals, art, beach-side dining, and boutiques and you have you have the perfect weekend day trip.

I’m definitely not one of those people who can just stay in their own area for months or years on end.  I’m quite a homebody but weeks of getting up, going to work, coming home and cooking dinner, waiting for bedtime, and getting up to repeat the same thing five times a week, punctuated by weekends which are sometimes taken up by chores, really gets to me.  Hubby wants to go to Holland and Italy for three weeks next year so these day and weekend trips will have to do for a while.

I’m definitely not one of those people who can just stay in their own area for months or years on end.  I’m quite a homebody but weeks of getting up, going to work, coming home and cooking dinner, waiting for bedtime, and getting up to repeat the same thing five times a week, punctuated by weekends which are sometimes taken up by chores, really gets to me.  Hubby wants to go to Holland and Italy for three weeks next year so these day and weekend trips will have to do for a while.

After wandering around Capitola and eating lunch, we drove over to Santa Cruz (see my post below) and then went back to Capitola to go to Shadowbrook restaurant for drinks in the bar room.  Poor folks like us just have to settle with drinks.  We loved the cute cable car ride and the garden setting complete with waterfalls and a herb garden.  Dinner reviews aren’t exactly great and the portions seem small so I would recommend just getting drinks unless you really need to impress your date with dinner in the main dining room.  I had a hot apple cider drink spiked with Tuaca, an Italian liqueur, which I plan on making for a dinner party soon.

Hopefully something miraculous happens and the predicted rain doesn’t happen as I am hoping to go to Healdsburg and Bodega Bay.  We will just have to see!

Leave a Reply

