English as a second language

Sometimes the things that come out of Hubby’s mouth makes me wonder whether he really intended what he just said or if the fact that English is his second language muddles his intent.  There’s a lot of funny moments when Hubby needs some extra help understanding words and meanings behind certain things.

Hubby’s more stressful new job could also be causing some unintended effects on his communication skills, meaning his brain is no longer working 100% when he comes home.

Example: When playfully pulling at his arm hair, I ask Hubby whether he thinks our future baby would have lots of body hair (like him) or none at all (like me).  Hubby responded that “If we have a boy, he should be hairy.  If we have a girl, she should not be hairy.  That would be ideal.”

Hubby revealed this grand opinion of his in the most seriousness of voice, no laughter intended.  Would he say this statement in Dutch?  Who knows?

Example #2: While suffering through another episode of Real Housewives of Atlanta, Hubby asked why the women are all holding peaches during the opening credit.  I guessed that they’re holding peaches because Georgia is the peach state.  Hubby’s response: “Well….peaches are good.  They can eat the peach.  Much better than eating a Big Mac.  Peaches are healthy.”

 

Peaches. Gotta have the peach.

Example #3: During a karaoke session at my sister’s baby shower, Hubby was singing  Nirvana’s Heart Shaped Box. Singing…singing….singing…Broken hymen of your highness….”What’s a hymen?!?!” screams Hubby.  After some uncontrollable laughter, I manage to explain to him what a hymen is.  After some silence, Hubby declares to everyone, “Well, I don’t know what a hymen is.  I’ve never had any experience with those.”

I’m sure if I were to start learning Dutch there’ll be some funny things coming out of my mouth.  Good thing I don’t really have any intention to learn 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “English as a second language

  1. As a former ESL teacher and second language learner myself, I always find it interesting how people use language and wonder if it is more a reflection of a person’s native culture or what grammar structures they are comfortable with in the second language. Probably a bit of both. In either case it makes for great stories.

  2. Great stories can be told about the mistakes made by people learning a second language. Actually, there is a web page about the mistakes Dutch diplomats make in official speeches or talks. The page makes fun of them because supposedly these guys and gals are so confident of their English, they don’t feel the need for a translator. I’m going to have to find that site again 😉

    You wrote:

    “I’m sure if I were to start learning Dutch there’ll be some funny things coming out of my mouth.”

    Oh, yes, there will be 😉 !! Go ahead, and try! Learning a second language is good brain exercise and protects against senility.

Leave a Reply

