A Quick Stop at Punta San Vigilio

As it so happens, I was eating something today that happened to remind me of my travels. The item in question was slices of olive bread. I’m not a fan of olives. Usually, I pick them out of my salads, sandwiches and pastas. It’s pretty much the only non-offal item that I find pretty repulsive. The only reason why I was eating olive bread was because I mistakenly thought it was simply bread made from olive oil, which I love, and I hate wasting food, and thus my money. The benefit of eating the olive bread however was wonderful memories of Punta San Vigilio.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Punta San Vigilio is a tiny little village  on the tip of the peninsula on the east side of Lake Garda, just north of Bardolino. I had read about this little place on a guidebook so after getting off our ferry, we got back in the car and made a pit stop before driving back to our villa in Sant’Ambrogio di Valpolicella. After parking the car in the little gravel parking lot, we walked down a long road lined with cypress trees on both sides as the sun’s rays peeked through. At the end of the road were numerous olive trees, which I presume provide some of San Vigilio’s famous extra virgin olive oil.

To the left down a short cobble-stoned road was a small boutique selling luxury goods and a hotel. Out on the small harbor, at which pricey Italian speedboats are often moored, people were enjoying eating and drinking out in the sun. There’s also a public beach. We didn’t spend too much time here, just enough for me to get insecure about my decidedly non-rich background. At least now I know how the rich wile away their afternoons while vacationing on Lake Garda!

Leave a Reply

