Reflections

Like many other people, my thoughts are with the victims of the Boston marathon bombing. Ever since I had my baby, I’ve generally tried to stay away from the news. While I would get bothered and sad by the horrible things that happen in the world before, now I get extremely frustrated, angry, confused and saddened, ESPECIALLY when there are little children involved, to the point where sometimes I can’t get work done the rest of the day. Now that I have a precious child of my own, I can’t imagine the grief that parents who lose their little ones to heinous and random acts of violence must feel.

When I was in New York City, I visited the National September 11 Memorial. It was a beautiful and moving tribute to the lives lost that day. Seeing the names of the victims etched into the granite really hit home, especially when I came across the name of one woman and her unborn child.

9/11 Memorial IMG_2278 IMG_2281

I sincerely hope that there will never be another 9/11, another Boston Marathon bombing….but the pessimist in me knows that it’ll probably be a hope unfulfilled.

At least I know that there are good people in the world who are actively working to make it a better place. When I came home from my NYC trip, I had lunch in San Francisco’s Yerba Buena Gardens and came across the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial IMG_3384 IMG_3385 IMG_3388

Dr. King’s inspiring words are ones that we should all keep in mind as we continue navigating this increasingly violent and senseless world.Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial

Leave a Reply

