New York City’s Grand Central Terminal

While I frequently go to the Ferry Building in San Francisco, I’ve never actually gone on a Saturday afternoon when they have the farmer’s market. My god was it bonkers. The Ferry Building Marketplace is already crowded enough on a weekend but add on a fantastic farmer’s market and nice weather and it gets insane!

It’s a good thing I actually don’t live near there. My wallet, and that of my husband’s, just won’t be able to handle it! I love farmer’s markets so much that I actively seek them out anywhere I am. There’s just nothing better to me than strolling around with locals, checking out all the interesting and delicious foods that people have worked so hard to produce.

When I was in New York City last year, I didn’t get to visit a farmer’s market but I did go to Grand Central Market in Grand Central Terminal. When my sister, who had been to NYC before, proposed going to Grand Central Terminal, I was confused. Not knowing anything about it, “Why would I want to go to a transportation hub?” was my initial reaction. But much like SF’s Ferry Building, it’s so much more than that. It has tons of retail shops and food purveyors, all housed in a magnificent building.

When I first walked into the main hall, I was just awestruck by how beautiful it is. I can look at the ceiling for hours! The mural of stars gives a sense of calm to the hectic and frantic crowds.

Grand Central Terminal IMG_2303

I loved looking at all the goodies for sale at the market. If I lived in NYC and my commute took me through GCM, I would definitely drop by here frequently to pick up items for dinner.

IMG_2313 IMG_2314

We also checked out the dining concourse at the lower level of the terminal, where we got some delicious gelato and crepes from Ciao Bella. The next time I go to NYC, I will definitely dedicate much more time to this great people-watching and food-buying destination!

Leave a Reply

