Eating Right

One of the ways Hubby makes me a better person is by changing my eating habits. While before I would just go for whatever’s tasty and, sometimes, cheaper, I’m now more selective about the quality of the food I put in my body. He’s one of those people who feels really strongly about eating local, organic, sustainable seafood and humanely-raised meats. Funny this is, he has absolutely no cooking skills. So while he goes off one of his food rants, I just nod and wonder to myself why he doesn’t care to learn how to cook if he cares so much about what goes in his body. But I digress…..

One of the things we like to do when out and about is patronage restaurants that follow our eating ethics. On a gloomy day in Sausalito, a charming and quaint seaside village with a New England feel a short drive or ferry boat ride away from San Francisco, we happened upon Fish.

IMG_1544IMG_1545 IMG_1546 IMG_1550

Fish is a restaurant dedicated to serving and selling sustainable seafood. We got fish and chips and a Tuscan white bean and tuna salad. Both were fresh and delicious, without any greasiness or “fishiness.” Too bad that it was a cold and gloomy day or else it would’ve been great to eat and drink some beers at one of the tables outside.

IMG_1542 IMG_1541 Fish

Too bad also that we’re on a budget and can’t afford to eat here all the time. Sustainable seafood, as it should, costs quite a bit. No matter the cost, I look forward to returning when the sun’s out, eating food that both tastes and makes me feel great.

Leave a comment